Well, friends, it’s been a crazy week in our little world. There were some ups and some downs and I am so glad that this week will be different.

I subbed for three days this week. Brian subbed for two. While his days were usual high-school sub days (read: he watched the same two movies all day), one of mine was a bit different.

Now let me preface this by saying that I love subbing — much more than I thought I would. I really feel that I am learning to be more flexible, learning to pick up on student behavioral ticks, and becoming more comfortable with my teaching style while learning a lot about other teaching styles. I know that all the experiences that I have this year will only make me a better teacher in the long run.

That being said, I left one job this week in tears. Without getting into specifics, I was overwhelmed with the lack of specificity left in lesson plans, not being able to find the needed materials, and most of all, it was the most alone I had felt in a long time.

How do you get over a day like that? A day where you doubt that the regular teacher will see how capable you are of running their classroom? Well, you have another day in a different classroom where the principal comes in and tells you that they love having you in their building.

Life goes on — some days are easy, others are hard. I was lucky to have a great first semester of subbing — no major issues. So I think it was due for me to have a fantastically awful day. At first, I vowed to myself and Brian that I would NOT go back to that position again. But after a few days, I think I’m more open to the idea of trying it again. I know in my heart that I can lead this classroom, and if I’m ever asked again, I wouldn’t say no right away. And I’m proud of myself for that. 🙂

In other news:

Brian made a roast for me. A post will be coming on this wonderful meal. Be ready to salivate. 🙂

Brian also made buffalo wings. If you know Brian, you know that wings are his favorite treat (aside from Rice Krispie treats). And these homemade wings did not disappoint. Maybe I’ll get him to write about them?!

I finished up three crafts and have one in the works. Will post about that this week!

I judged a high school speech meet. I even went into my alma mater to help coach a few days last week, and I think it’s definitely something I’ll continue doing. I love being back into the speech thing. I forgot what a special part of my life it was. And let me tell you, even with only practicing with these talented young adults a few times, they have a very special place in my heart. I was beaming with pride when 20 of their 27 events medalled today!

A final note of sad news:

A young man in our community passed away this week. I had only met him in passing, but he definitely impacted my heart. Everyone who met him was warmed by his giant smile and genuine love. His untimely passing had quite the impact on me. I only hope that everyone who met this wonderful boy will be able to impact someone’s life the way he impacted the lives of all he met.

So, you can see, while it was a normal week in some respects, it was also a week of learning more about how to be the best you can be. And with that, I’m going to bed. Let’s hope next week is different.

