Things have been kind of crazy this weekend, and I don’t feel like I have time to sit down, let alone blog. But here goes…

-Judging speech is the highlight of my weeks. I feel so bad that it means leaving Brian at home for 12 hours. But I didn’t have TIME to miss him this Saturday! I judged all day, and while it was EXHAUSTING, I had a blast! To top that, I get to work with some of the most talented kids! I adore going in and helping coach during the week. I forgot what an important part of my life speech was — and I love this side of it even more than I did competing. And yeah, I do this without getting paid for it. I do it because I see the potential these kids have and I want to help them find their greatness. I want to see the looks on their faces the first time they break their event to finals, the disappointment when they don’t do as well as they deserve, the loud/obnoxious van rides home, the plethora of inside jokes, the bonding of a group of students as they see themselves becoming a TEAM. It seriously made my heart smile!

-Brian made an awesome apple crisp today. It’s kind of my little sister’s specialty, but he put hers to shame. (Though I will never tell her this. And you better not either!)

-I think I’m FINALLY (knock on wood) over my cold. Last weekend before the giant snow storm, I broke down and went to the doctors. It’s a good thing I did because she said if I would have waited until after the weekend, it could have turned into pneumonia. Just as I was getting over it, I had a massive coughing fit and messed up one of my ribs. That took about 2 days and lots of cough syrup with codeine to get to the point where I could breath, move, hiccup, cough, sneeze, and laugh without feeling like I was going to die. Now, I’m feeling back to myself. Thank the Lord!!!

-Last week was a super slow sub week for both of us. But, it gave me a chance to return to health and craft. Pictures/blog post instructions soon to come. πŸ™‚ It also gave Brian and I an opportunity to spend some quality time together playing games, watching movies, and cooking. Nothing spectacular was made, but just cooking full meals was a treat!

-This week, I have 3 sub days already planned — I even get to sub on Valentine’s day for a class I’ve subbed for a few times! I can’t wait! πŸ™‚ Brian doesn’t have anything planned, but will take them as they come — so PLEASE pray that teacher’s have sick kids, are sick themselves, need mental health days, have workshops they forgot about, break bones, etc.Β  So help get my husband out of the house and into a classroom!!!!

-Our washer leaked today. My dad happened to be in town with nothing to do while my mom, sister, and I went to a local theater’s production of “Guys and Dolls”, so he helped Brian look at it. They found nothing wrong, so let’s hope they at least scared the leak out of it. We got a great deal on our washer/dryer, and I am NOT ready to need a new one!

 

Well, this was a lot more than I had planned on writing, so I’ll wrap it up for now. Let’s hope for a busy, but peaceful week. Happy Valentine’s day to all! Hope your week is full of love and happiness!